Two existing local clubs, Swansea Bay (2001) and Swansea Ladies (1902), agreed to merge in 2011-12 with the primary aim of providing wide ranging opportunities for hockey players throughout the area. Read more about the team below

Swansea City

The new club, now named Swansea City, has 4 men’s teams playing in the Davis Wood League and there are also four women’s teams. Three teams play in the South Wales Women’s Leagues, whilst the 1st team plays in the EHL Conference West.

The thriving junior section, comprising both boys and girls, regularly supports hockey tournaments for all age groups, and a number of players have gained National honours.

Swansea Ladies qualified to play in the English League as the top Welsh side in 2004/05 and are the only Welsh representatives at this level. In addition, the team represents Wales in the European Club Tournament being promoted to Challenge 1 in 2014.

Toby Nichols

Toby Nichols

The EHL team is coached by Toby Nichols Programme Director BSc (Hons) Sports Coaching at Cardiff Metropolitan University.

The opportunity to play at this high level is available for committed, ambitious players from the club and the wider hockey community, and there is a close association with Cardiff Metropolitan University which provides an outlet for the elite Cardiff Met students to play in the EHL and supports a player pathway for Swansea City HC.


Swansea City Ladies

2015-16 Season Squad

Back Row: Anna Morris, Sophie Clayton, Beth Fisher, Natalie Blyth (C), Katie Saunderson, Lisa Daley, Lowri Ratti, Kat Budd, Jo Westwood

Front Row: Izzy Webb, Bridget Radice, Sian Jones, Abi Welsford, Natasha Marke-Jones, Kathryn Mee, Carmel Ansley, Sarah-Jane Thorburn

       Not photographed: Carys Tucker, Charlotte Edmondson

For a full list of all players and photos visit the Swansea City website here.


Further details/information can be found on the Swansea City website or on the Cardiff Metropolitan University website